– What does my mantra ‘keep sprucin’ mean? Find Out Here! –

At the end of every post you may have noticed I have a tag line that reads ‘keep sprucin.’ I wanted to tell you the story and meaning behind those words so you can put the idea to work for you. It is a term I created a while back to describe what I try to do each day in every aspect of my life. It started a few years ago as a silly idea I came up with after listening to one to many of my mom’s made up jokes. They are puns mostly, bad puns, not very punny at all lol. But this one sort of stuck with me because it truly captions my actions on a day-to-day basis. My home here on the Oregon coast is surrounded by beautiful and mighty Sitka spruce trees, on all the sides but the one that faces my shining ocean. And my place in this world between the two is why I named my brand and blog ‘Sitka Trees & Salty Seas.’ It is an absolute tribute to this precious place I was made.

Ever since I was a little girl I have loved the way the tall old trees stand proud all around us. When the sun sets or wakes here in my sandy little town they spread their lovely silhouettes upon the watercolor of sky. The contrast is one of my favorite sights on this earth. The sky’s painting is ever-changing but no matter what the day weathered them with, the spruce trees are always standing tall, just as lovely and mighty as ever. They are never slighted by a ‘bad day’ there aren’t any when you are a tree. When you are a tree good days or bad, you just keep growing and adapting and getting stronger and bigger and more beautiful. And ever since I was just a sandy little blonde girl growing up my most satisfying and full moments are those when I create or complete something. This comes to me in many forms. Whether it be painting a happy piece, putting together a perfect little seashell creation, writing something that just spilled out from me perfectly, or simply rearranging a space in my home. All bring me the same flooding feeling of humbled satisfaction.

As I enter each day that burning feeling in my soul to compose something out of my over-stimulated over-inspired heart is what I run on. The chase of the  feeling that ultimately comes after you finish something made straight  from mind and emotions, a feeling turned object, reflecting all of the roots it holds within you.  I am always looking to ‘spruce things up’ as it has been said before, to always ‘keep sprucin’ in all I do. The big and small areas of my life, the pebbles and the mountains of my heart. Every night when I lay my head down I need to have the assuring buzz that I made something or made something better. And as I build this blog my goal is to instill that same desire within you. The buzzing drive that will spark an inspiration within you to do the same. Whatever your task or challenge may be, whatever it’s size, whether it is writing a book or just organizing the flippin’ Tupperware cabinet finally, I hope to help you to the foot of, and all the way through those missions. Because we are what we do; and when what we do creates something beautiful or results in inner peace and accomplishment our souls become richer and the drive multiplies. We conquer the big by assessing and obtaining the small. With every little task and project completed we are fueling the next; making our skills better, striving further, getting closer to our visions, even if they aren’t yet clear. Our every move in this life is in part the deciphering of our creative process and fulfillment. The more we do the more we become. We promote inner abundance and order by obtaining it on the outside. Not in materials or monetary value but in the beauty, flow, and personal authenticity in the little world we build around us that is our life. The feeling these things bring is why I remind you with each new note I gift you to above all ‘keep sprucin’ in all you do. In the big, the small, even in the tiniest of things you love that bring you joy. The miniscule luxuries of the soul that seem so small to others. Those things that appear normal to those on the outside of your being, the things no one could see or appreciate the way your specific heart does. Yes, even the littlest personal necessities are all equally important and soul shifting as the big. These personal fuels vary from person to person.

For me it is my sleepy monk coffee. The ground white chocolate Americano I wake up thinking about. So bold; so many moments and memories in its aroma and flavor splitting all of my senses awake. Reading a soulful sentence that flicks my heartstrings with its beauty. The silent words read to self catching in my throat and swelling wet in my eyes. It is the cove in the morning; a parking strip right above the shore line in my home town. Seeing the waves kiss the smoothed, cool, charcoal stones awake, the shine my place has as the sun climbs over the eastern mountain ridge to greet the sea. The sweet moss filled salty morning air. The smell of my favorite shampoo after some time with out splurging. It is as small as a bathroom mirror love note, and as big as my little girls love filled eyes and heart slicing smile. The simple, and the immense. All are of equal importance to my self nurturing routine, to my inspiration, and truly to my overall happiness and inner condition. The specifics that make you feel like you is our personal Authenticity in its purest form. The chosen specifics that fill your heart and soul with bliss and inspire you. Be like the noble, wild spruce trees, through any weather, any condition- just keep planting your roots and spreading yourself towards the sun. With every drop of fuel this world gives you nourish yourself and grow. For a tree those come in elemental forms. In the sun and the rain and their life giving, positive sources. And in the more testing forms like storms, wind, lightening. But no matter the origin of these sources the tree almost always converts them to life, to growth, to solidity- to new blooms, and deeper roots.  For us  these driving forces come in many different forms. The good and the bad as well. But I believe ours are more emotional and circumstantial pieces- like love, loss, success, delay, passion- relationships that take work, jobs that take compromise, learning to know the difference, when to fight when to fly. It is all a conditioning of sorts to the better if we just believe it to be. Be like the Sitka- turn it all to growth.  We all have these factors working in our lives every day, they can be a blessing or a curse, the choice is always ours, we must choose joy again and again. Find your strengths in every opportunity, the little piece, however tiny that you can twist in to a tool- find them and put them to work for you.  If we do this with the things we can’t control and be sure to add the things that drive our happiness and accomplishment, our potential becomes infinite. Whatever keeps you going and growing- capture it and spend your time and self on it. And when you are given the more challenging and testing circumstances and moments, stand tall through the storm and use the moment as a lesson- find the blessing, and in turn an opportunity to expand your understanding, you heart, and your abilities . The taller the tree grows the stronger, and the same goes with us; the more we nourish the self the more powerful we become. To quote myself in much earlier notebook scribbles from my life ‘Any progress is good progress. Either what we do is a success and bring us good or it is trial and error and brings us a lesson. But it is always, always a step somewhere, and anywhere further than where you started is a win.’

So take my words friends and-

g spruce fixed blue

 

Leave a Reply

